The Senate confirmed Janet Yellen and Sarah Bloom Raskin as members of the Federal Reserve Board. Yellen will also serve as vice chairwoman of the Fed. The Senate did not confirm a third nominee, Massachusetts Institute of Technology economics professor Peter Diamond, and will consider his nomination later.

Related Summaries