Nine states that made unsuccessful bids for federal Race to the Top funding in the grant competition's first two rounds now are eligible for a share of $200 million, officials announced Wednesday. Arizona, California, Colorado, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and South Carolina are able to compete for education grants ranging from $10 million to $50 million. A separate $500 million competitive funding program dedicated to learning programs for children younger than 5 will be open to all states.

Related Summaries