The U.S. Department of Agriculture will provide $25 million in grants to rural electric cooperatives in eight states to help further their smart-grid projects. The funding -- which is earmarked for utilities in Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, South Dakota and Tennessee -- is part of a $250 million commitment from the USDA to promote smart-grid technologies.

Related Summaries